top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarina

Wacky Quotes To Inspire Your Writing

In preparation for Issue 5: Jabberwocky, our wackiest issue yet, I have created a list of wacky quotes to inspire your writing.


This issue is all about embracing anything fun, weird, and wacky, and these quotes reflect that. It’s important to embrace all writing, even the silly kind.

Of course these quotes can be used to inspire any writing, not exclusively any for Issue 5. Whether you choose to submit your wacky writing to Issue 5 or not, I hope these quotes can help!


  • “People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.” - A.A. Milne

  • “When life gives you lemons, squirt someone in the eye.” - Cathy Guisewite

  • “A day without sunshine is like, you know, night.” - Steve Martin

  • “Not my circus, not my monkeys. But I definitely know the clowns.” - Unknown

  • “It was me. I let the dogs out” - Unknown

  • “A synonym is a word you use when you can’t spell the other one.” - Baltasar Gracián

  • “Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?” - Edgar Bergen

  • “I hope someday to write something worth plagiarizing.” - Shubhranshu Sharma

  • “Money can’t buy love, but it improves your bargaining position” - Christopher Marlowe

  • “Even if you are on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” - Will Rogers

  • “The closest to perfection a person ever comes is when he fills out a job application form.” - Stanley J. Randall

  • “It feels like the sky just sweated on me.” - Hailey (nine years old)

  • “Never put off till tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow just as well.” - Mark Twain

  • “You can spend your whole life trying to be popular, but at the end of the day, the size of the crowd at your funeral will be largely dictated by the weather.” - Frank Skinner

  • “Everyone has a purpose in life. Perhaps yours is watching television.” - David Letterman

  • “The only place success comes before work is in the dictionary.” - Vince Lombardi

  • “Friendship is being there when someone’s feeling low and not being afraid to kick them.” - Randy K. Milholland

  • “Why do they call it rush hour when nothing moves?” - Robin Williams

  • “Before you marry a person, you should first make them use a computer with slow internet service to see who they really are.” - Will Ferrell

  • “I didn’t fail the test. I just found 100 ways to do it wrong.” - Benjamin Franklin

  • “I need a six month vacation twice a year.” - Anonymous

  • “If at first you don’t succeed, find if the loser gets anything.” - William Lyon Phelps

  • “I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.” - Steven Wright

  • “I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me.” - Fred Allen

  • “If you’re too open-minded; your brains will fall out.” - Lawrence Ferlinghetti

  • “If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple of payments.” - Steven Wright

  • “The first time I see a jogger smiling, I’ll consider it.” - Joan Rivers

  • “When nothing is going right, go left.” - Unknown

  • “The word abbreviation sure is long for what it means.” - Zach Galifianakis

  • “Do not take life too seriously. You will never get out of it alive.” - Elbert Hubbard

  • “You know the trouble with real life? There’s no danger music.” - Jim Carrey

  • “I learn from the mistakes of people who took my advice.” - Pakalu Papito

  • “I walk around like everything is fine, but deep down, inside my shoe, my sock is sliding off.” - Unknown

  • “Am I perfect? No. But am I striving to be a better person every day? Also no.” - Unknown

  • “We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.” - Bryan White

  • “To succeed in life you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone, and a funny bone. - Reba McEntire

  • “Two wrongs don’t make a right, but they make a good excuse.” - Thomas Stephen Szasz

  • “The odds of going to the store for a loaf of bread and coming out with only a loaf of bread are three billion to one.” - Emma Bombeck

  • “I don’t believe in astrology; I’m a Sagittarius and we’re skeptical.” - Arthur C. Clarke

  • “My favorite machine at the gym is the vending machine.” - Caroline Rhea

  • “I always arrive late at the office, but I make up for it by leaving early.” - Charles Lamb

  • “Life is hard. After all, it kills you.” - Katharine Hepburn

  • “Marriage is the chief cause of divorce.” - Groucho Marx

  • “I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives.” - Ralph Waldo Emerson

  • “When I was a boy the Dead Sea was only sick.” - George Burns

  • “Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so.” - Douglas Adams

  • “Can a cell in a cell sell ramen to a cell that sells cells?” - Sunny and friends

I hope this post helped inspire you to create the wackiest story ever! Submissions for Issue 5 open on August 31st, and end on September 30. Follow us at @rewritethestarsreview on Instagram for more information!

 

To learn more about the author, check out @clay_crafts_art_on instagram

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page