top of page
  • August M

Enkindle: On Inspiration And How To Find It

by August M


An orange beam of lightning in an otherwise dark area, meant to symbolize that spark of inspiration.
A Spark of Inspiration

This piece was originally submitted for issue iii: kindle the flame, however the editors felt it would be a better addition to our blog.

 

Some days, I feel like an artist. Other days I feel like a kid masquerading as one, because I have no idea why I started.

I'd like to say I can pin down a moment where I read a comic or saw an animated movie or a painting and thought "I want to do that". But in reality, I can't say that's true.

I don't know what it was. I've been drawing since I was a kid. Every kid likes to draw, but a lot of people stop at some point I think, and I never did.

Usually, my identity as an artist depends on how "good" my art is, how a piece measures up to my better works.

And the quality of a piece depends on how inspired I am.

Sometimes I just want to draw. I start making lines on a page, and I don't stop until I'm done and then I realize I haven't done well. I feel like a fraud, tear out the page or delete the file, and lose my self in hour-long video essays and hot cocoa.


Sometimes, I get an idea. And it lights me up and I want to make a certain drawing. I work with purpose and enjoy the process. I take my time and think ahead. I see that I have finished, and usually, I'm happy. I've made something I'm really proud of.

After five years as an artist, I've cracked the code.

Motivation will help you finish things, but it takes inspiration to finish good things. Because if you aren't inspired to do something, it doesn't work out well. It can be technically good, but in my own work, I can always tell there's something missing.

In my experience, finding inspiration can be easier said than done. In fact, it's hard to find it if you're looking for it. But sometimes, you want to find inspiration. It isn't something you can force, but you can make it easier to find.


How to find it

Take a walk!

It's good for the mind and the body. I know, I know. An artist's natural habitat is in their room or at their desk. But getting out can be a good way to rest and recharge your creative batteries. Taking time away from your work (or social media) gives you time to think and brainstorm. Sometimes you have to leave space for new ideas, and that's hard to do if you're always working on something


Listen to music. Songs you know and love can be a big inspiration. Make a playlist of some of your favorite songs, listen to that new artist you've been wanting to listen to, or ask your friends for some music recommendations! This can be a great place to start!

Read more

It doesn't have to be a new book, or even a novel. Reread an old favorite. Read some comics. You can even watch a TV show or a documentary. Any kind of longform media will do. It can be fun to write and draw and make things. But every once in a while, you have to take a break from making and creating to just relax and consume some media. You learn so much from this, and it's a great way to get ideas for future projects

Talk to people

Life imitates art. Or is it art imitates life? It doesn't really matter, because both can be true. Talking to the people around you can be a great source of inspiration. You can bounce ideas off of your friends. You can base characters off of people you know. You can base stories off of your own unique experiences. Art doesn't exist in a vacuum. What you create will reflect your life in some way, so you might as well lean into it

Look to other artists

Don't copy them. Learn from them. Watching speed paints or draw with me videos on YouTube can be a great place to learn and get ideas. Seeing other people's art styles and design choices can help you try new things with your own art! Make sure to ask permission and give credit if heavily referencing another person's work! And ask before you share heavily referenced artwork online!


This has been Enkindle, a piece about finding creativity, made by a novice artist! These things are tried and true ways to get inspired, according to my friends and I, and I hope that they help you too!

 

To learn more about the author, check out @sincerely.ches on instagram.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page